如何找到合适的心理医生/如何找到合适的心理治疗师

如果您在心理健康方面遭遇困难,您并不孤单。在16至85岁的澳大利亚人中,几乎有一半的人在人生的某个阶段会罹患精神疾病,最常见的病症是焦虑、抑郁和成瘾问题。在2018至2019年,270万澳大利亚人接受了国民医保(Medicare)补贴的心理健康专项服务。2020年由于新冠全球大流行,政府已有举措,让大家更容易获得心理健康心理治疗。

虽然很多人在谈论心理健康时变得越来越自在,但有些人仍然对寻求专业帮助犹豫不决。也许您不知道从何开始,或者过去的经历让您沮丧,让您得出了心理治疗无用的结论。

心理治疗并不是一种放之四海而皆准的方法——关键是要找到适合您的心理治疗师。要找到能让您信任并与之安心谈论脆弱点的治疗师并不容易。即使找到了,这位心理治疗师能满足您独特的需求吗?找到合适的心理治疗师需要耐心和知识。成功的心理治疗关系将为您带来力量、新看法和改变人生的新策略。

我们准备了一些小建议来帮助您找到契合的心理治疗师。

咨询前

1. 了解您的心理咨询目标

为了从心理治疗中得到最大的好处,确立您的目标是很重要的。您为什么要寻求专业帮助?您想实现什么样的目标?对您来说,怎样才算成功?如果您不确定也没关系——在您的第一次心理咨询中,您的心理治疗师会根据您的价值观和需求,与您一起弄清这个问题。

2. 做足研究

在缩小潜在候选范围时,您可能会考虑一些实际的因素,比如心理治疗师的所在地、收费结构、是否可获国民医保(Medicare)或私人医保报销、工作时间和非工作时间选项等。

您还应考虑以下几点:

文化背景

某些人可能更喜欢来自相似文化、宗教、性别、性取向或年龄群体的心理治疗师。在选择心理治疗师时,您有权利按照您的个人偏好进行选择。

背景相似的人会有类似的生活经验。这样就客户就无需向心理治疗师介绍自己的背景情况,因为这种情况令人沮丧,并可能引发心理压力。在建立心理治疗关系时,选择有相似人生经历的心理治疗师可以减少压力,增强相互理解和信任。

心理健康专业人士和心理治疗方式的类型

您需要精神科医生、心理医生、心理咨询师还是社会工作者?每一种上述专业人士都会使用不同的流程和心理治疗方法。心理治疗方法是否合适,取决于您的心理健康问题和治疗目标。

一些常见的心理治疗方式包括:

  • 认知行为疗法(CBT)
  • 接受和承诺疗法(ACT)
  • 辩证行为疗法(DBT)
  • 正念认知疗法(MBCT)
  • 寻解聚焦疗法
  • 正面心理学(辅导)
  • 精神分析/心理动力疗法

经验及资历

您的心理治疗师是否有相关的经验、注册和资格来处理您需要帮助的具体问题?调查一下心理治疗师的专业领域——您要找的是不是专攻关系咨询、儿童和青少年问题、创伤和创伤后应激障碍(PTSD)或其他方面的专家?

心理咨询风格

每一位心理治疗师都有自己的治疗方法。例如,有些治疗师可能计划结构非常清楚,会制定一个3个月的计划,每两周预约一次。其他治疗师可能会更灵活一点,会根据您的进展情况预约单个心理咨询疗程。

方法没有对错,重点是您和您的心理治疗师能建立对您有效的系统。

3. 与心理治疗师面谈

在进行第一次预约前,与您考虑中的心理治疗师打个简短的电话。您也可以给治疗师发一封邮件,告诉治疗师您希望通过心理咨询获得什么成果。这些初期的接触将帮助您了解心理治疗师是什么样的人,并让双方有机会相互提问。

您可能会问到的问题包括:

  • 您在这方面接受过哪些教育和培训?
  • 您的专长是什么?
  • 您是否有与我这种问题或经历的人共事的经验?
  • 您提供什么样的心理治疗?
  • 这种心理治疗方式如何起作用?
  • 这种干预对我的情况有效吗?

咨询时

4. 评估双方关系,注意您的感受

有效的咨询需要您愿意诚实面对并展露出脆弱的一面,所以最重要的是您在心理治疗师面前能感到安全和自在。良好的关系包括真诚的联系和参与。研究表明,心理治疗关系是影响心理治疗效果的最重要因素,甚至比心理治疗师的经验、性别、专业知识或任何其他因素都重要!

要知道咨询师是否合适您,可以依赖您的感受作为衡量标准。在心理咨询时以及之后您感觉如何?听从您的直觉。尽管心理治疗有时会让人难受、充满挑战,但最终应该让人感受到尊重、不受评判以及共同的努力。

咨询后

在第一次咨询结束时,您应该感觉受到了倾听、得到了理解和支持,并抱有“事情可被改变”的希望。您的心理治疗师应该制定心理治疗计划和策略助您实现目标。

为了从心理治疗中最大限度获益,您必须准备好在心理咨询的间隙做出努力。并不是说在您离开咨询室时,就可以停止努力了;只有当您在日常生活中贯彻新策略时,您才能体会到长久的变化。

让自己在前两次心理咨询后进行评估,看您对这个心理治疗关系感觉如何。如果您觉得并没有从心理咨询中收获什么,那么一定要让您的心理治疗师知道,这样治疗师才能调整方法。如果感觉不对劲,请继续寻找合适的治疗师。这甚至和约会有相似之处:大多数人都要看好几个心理治疗师之后才能找到契合的。当您找到了“命中注定”的治疗师,您就能踏上改善人生、挖掘潜能的幸福之路。

关于如何找到合适的心理治疗师,如果您有更多的问题,我们乐意为您解答。欢迎随时点击此处与我们联系。

How To Find The Right Therapist For You: 9 Things To Consider

If you’re struggling with your mental health, you’re not alone.

Almost half of all Australians between 16 to 85 years old will experience mental illness at some point in their life, with the most common conditions being anxiety, depression and substance use disorders. In 2018-2019, 2.7 million Australians received Medicare-subsidised mental health-specific services. And in 2020, due to the global pandemic, the government has been making mental health treatments more accessible.

While many of us are getting more comfortable talking about mental health, some of us still have hesitations about seeking professional help. Perhaps you don’t know where to start or have been discouraged by past experiences which have led you to conclude that therapy just doesn’t work for you.

Therapy isn’t a one-size-fits-all approach – the key is finding a therapist that’s right for you.

Recommended: Find Your Best Fit Psychologist

It isn’t easy to find someone you can trust and be vulnerable with. And even if you do, are they able to address your unique needs? Finding a good match takes patience and awareness. A successful therapeutic relationship would bring about personal empowerment, new insights and fresh strategies for lifelong changes.

We’re prepared some tips to guide you on the journey of finding your perfect therapist.

Before The Session

Understand your counselling goals

To get the most out of therapy, it is essential to establish your goals. Why are you seeking professional help? What would you like to achieve? What does success look like to you? It’s ok if you’re unsure – during your first session, your therapist can figure this out with you based on your values and needs.

Do your research

In narrowing down potential candidates, you’ll probably consider practical factors such as their location, fee structure, whether they offer Medicare or private health rebates, office hours and after-hours options.

You may also want to consider the following:

Cultural background

Some of us may prefer a therapist from a similar culture, religion, gender, sexual orientation or age group. It’s your right to have a personal preference when it comes to choosing a therapist.

People with similar backgrounds share lived realities of certain experiences. This prevents situations where the client has to educate the therapist about their background, which could be frustrating and potentially triggering. Choosing a therapist with similar life experiences reduces barriers and enhances mutual understanding and trust when forming a therapeutic relationship.

Type of mental health professional and therapeutic modality

Are you looking for a psychiatrist, psychologist, counsellor or social worker? Each of these professionals make use of different processes and treatments. Choosing the right psychological treatment depends on your mental health issues and therapy goals.

Some popular therapeutic modalities include:

  • Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT)
  • Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT)
  • Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT)
  • Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT)
  • Solution Focused Therapy
  • Positive Psychology (Coaching)
  • Psychoanalytic/Psychodynamic Therapy

Experience and qualifications

Does your therapist have relevant experience, registrations and qualifications to handle the specific issues you’re seeking help with? Find out about your therapist’s areas of expertise – are you looking for someone who specialises in relationship counselling, child and adolescent issues, trauma and PTSD or something else?

Counselling style

Every therapist has their own approach. For instance, some may be highly structured, establishing a 3-month plan with fortnightly appointments. Others may work more flexibly and book single sessions according to your progress.

There is no right or wrong way – what’s important is that both you and your therapist establish a system that works for you.

Interview the therapist

Arrange a quick phone call with your shortlisted candidates before making your first appointment. You could also email them to give them an overview of what you’re hoping to achieve from the sessions. These initial points of contact will help you get a feel of what the therapist is like and allow both parties to address any questions.

Some types of questions you may ask include:

  • What’s your education and training in this area?
  • What is your specialty?
  • How much experience do you have working with people with my issues or history?
  • What kind of treatments do you offer?
  • How does this therapeutic modality work?
  • Is this intervention effective for my condition?

During The Session

Assess your rapport and notice how you feel

Effective counselling requires the willingness to be truthful and vulnerable, so it is crucial that you feel secure and at ease with your therapist. Good rapport involves genuine connection and engagement. Research shows that the therapeutic relationship is the most important factor in psychological efficacy, even more so than the therapist’s experience, gender, expertise or any other factors!

To know whether you’re a good match, use your feelings as a gauge. How do you feel during and after the sessions? Listen to your gut. Although therapy will be uncomfortable and challenging at times, it should ultimately feel respectful, non-judgmental and collaborative.

After The Session

At the end of your first consultation, you should feel heard, understood, supported and hopeful that things can change. Your therapist should have outlined a treatment plan and strategies to achieve your goals.

To get the most out of therapy, you must be ready to do some work in between sessions. The work doesn’t stop when you leave the room; you’ll only experience lasting change when you implement your new strategies in your daily life.

Allow yourself to assess how the therapeutic relationship feels after the first couple of sessions. If you feel like you’re not getting much out of your session, it is important to let your therapist know so they can adjust their approach. If something doesn’t feel right, continue your search. It’s is a bit like dating! Most people go to a number of therapists before finding the perfect fit. When you find “the one”, you’ll be on your way to living life to your fullest potential.

Do you have any more questions about finding a suitable therapist?

We’d love to help.

Feel free to get in touch with us here for a chat.

New Vision Psychology offers a variety of counselling services for individuals and couples (e.g., marriage therapy). We have three locations across Sydney servicing the North Shore, South Sydney, and the CBD. Many of our psychologists are bilingual and carry out therapy sessions in Mandarin, Cantonese, Hebrew, Spanish, Tegulu, and Italian.