如何鼓励贵公司员工使用EAP服务

在当今社会,工作与家庭之间的界限比以往更加模糊。特别当我们在继续抗击COVID-19的大背景下,个人问题不可能只影响家庭生活。如果这些问题没有得到恰当的处理和及时的解决,就会影响员工的士气,最终导致公司在生产力、病假时间和/或营业额方面的损失。

员工援助项目是企业可购买的一项服务,为员工提供应对任何类型问题的短期专业咨询。这些问题包括健康和安全问题、财务和法律问题、关系和家庭问题以及工作相关问题。

EAP心理咨询旨在协助员工:

  • 理解并明晰直接影响员工的问题。
  • 找出并寻求解决这些问题的方法。
  • 制定应对问题的计划,并找到有助益的解决方案。

因此,EAP能帮助减少员工离职率和缺勤率。使用EAP心理咨询能助益员工长远的身心健康。事实上,研究表明在EAP服务上投入的每一元钱都能带来6.47元的回报。

虽然许多澳大利亚企业有EAP服务提供商,但只有不到10%的员工使用了员工援助项目这一福利。这是因为很多人不相信这一过程。

您只需去看看人们在谷歌中提出的问题:

  • “使用了EAP服务会被解雇吗?”
  • “EAP服务信得过吗?”
  • “EAP保密吗?”

显而易见,当涉及在工作场所披露敏感信息时,我们可以看到一种不信任的趋势。这令人担忧,因为EAP是旨在帮助公司采取更积极的、预防性手段来保护工作场所的心理健康。

不幸的是,雇员对员工援助项目的看法是负面的,认为它是一种低成本高效益的人员管理措施,是缓解风险的工具,是管理层的“照本宣科”。

为了增加EAP的使用,我们必须首先了解为什么员工不愿使用EAP服务。

员工不使用EAP服务的常见原因

没有人愿意让大家知晓自己的内心挣扎,或者更糟——让自己的言论影响职场关系。这或许是员工不使用EAP的最大原因——担心自己所披露的信息会反过来伤害到自己。

如要打消员工的顾虑,信任、信心和对法定权利的尊重是至关重要的。因此拥有一个可以提供场外和远程咨询服务的外部EAP合作伙伴至关重要,这样所有的EAP咨询都能保密,因为除非获得允许或法律强制要求,我们不不得向任何人透露员工咨询的内容。

也有可能员工因为正在经历离婚或正在应对酗酒问题而感到困窘。

人们仍对寻求心理健康帮助感到羞耻或厌恶

一般来说,任何时候每五个员工中就都有一个有精神健康方面的问题。

开口求助很困难,员工不太可能向其直属上司或人力资源部寻求心理健康方面的帮助。

在心理健康环境不佳的工作场所,只有38%的员工愿意向其直属上司求助,41%的员工愿意向人力资源部求助。这突出表明,在心理健康环境不佳的工作场所中,绝大多数的员工无法获得所需的帮助。

员工误以为必须先获得管理层的许可

员工不使用EAP的另一个原因是担心管理层发现自己“状态不好”。

例如,昆士兰州政府的员工可通过多家EAP提供商获得免费、专业和保密的咨询服务。然而在他们的EAP页面上,措辞不恰当——“您可以在自己的时间使用EAP服务。但如果在工作时间需要请假去咨询,你需要得到上司的批准。”

从这样的措辞中可以推断,参加咨询服务需要得到管理层的许可——但事实并非如此,因为大多数EAP服务都有全天候的免费电话号码,员工可保密使用该服务。

员工不知道其问题是否相关

许多员工认为EAP服务只能用于紧急情况。因此,有些员工可能认为预算、照顾亲友或工作倦怠等问题不算是“紧急事件”,不知道自己能使用EAP服务在这些方面获得支持。

大多数人都知道EAP提供咨询服务,但员工援助项目的内容远不止这些。

如何增加工作场所中EAP福利的使用

为了使EAP为您的机构带来最大的利益,必须要让员工感觉该项目是安全的,并能在这个环境中以专业的方式应对问题和顾虑。其次,要让员工感到受到保护,不受失业、刑事制裁或尴尬感的影响。

以下方法能让您的员工更好地了解EAP:

  • 全年推广。很多公司在推广公司的社交聚会和成员福利时,忘记了公司的员工援助项目。您可以在内部通讯中、网络研讨会中和信函中推广EAP,以消除寻求帮助的耻辱。
  • 为所有管理人员提供培训。处于管理职位的人不一定有能力去管理需要心理健康帮助的员工。培训课程能帮助管理人员发现同事承受长期压力的迹象。培训能为他们提供处理敏感情况的程序。
  • 邀请EAP合作伙伴到办公室通过具体案例宣讲该如何以及何时使用该服务。这不仅能解开谜团,让员工知道该联系谁,也能让心理医生向员工介绍“非紧急”的事件,让员工明白可以出于任何原因、在任何时间求助。
  • 创建纸质和电子的常见问题解答。由于保密度是使用EAP服务的最大障碍,请确保员工知道隐私法律的存在。请在所有材料和通讯中都要包含这一点,使之成为工作场所的常识。同时,请明确指出并强调员工可以在自己选择的任何时间使用该服务。无需要经理或人力资源部门的许可。
  • 让公司领导带头分享其个人经历。培养开放的公司文化需要高层的支持。如果企业文化对人的脆弱视而不见,那么接受EAP等服务将会十分困难。

New Vision心理咨询:值得信赖的EAP合作伙伴

我们有一支文化多元的团队,可为您的团队提供多语种咨询。我们的价格在EAP市场上独具竞争力。我们的许多心理医生拥有超过20年的企业咨询经验。

获取更多信息和报价,请点击此处

 

来源:

  • Employee Assistance Program Services in Australia industry trends (2015-2020) – IBISWorld.
  • Employee Assistance Programs in Australia: the perspective of organisational leaders across sectorsAsia Pacific Journal of Human Resources.
  • Why hardly anyone uses Employee Assistance ProgramsHow Stuff Works.
  • Employee Assistance ReportVolume 18, No. 3, March 2015.
  • State of workplace mental health in AustraliaHeads Up.
  • Employee Assistance Programs have low utilizationHR Technologist.

How To Encourage Your Organisation’s Employees To Use Their EAP

More than ever, there is a blurring of lines between work and home. It is impossible for personal problems to remain at home, especially as we continue to tackle COVID-19. If these issues are not properly addressed and resolved in a timely manner, they can have an effect on morale and end up costing the business in loss in productivity, sick leave, and/or turnover.

An Employee Assistance Program is a service that a business can purchase in order to offer its employees with short-term professional counselling for any type of issue. These can range from health and safety concerns, financial and legal matters, relationship and family issues, and work-related problems.

EAP counselling is aimed at assisting employees to:

  • Understand and clarify issues that are directly concerning them.
  • Identify and explore options to address those issues.
  • Develop plans to approach the issues and find construction solutions.

As a result, an EAP can help decrease staff turnover and absenteeism. When used, EAP counselling can help to support ongoing wellbeing of your employees. In fact, studies show that EAP services deliver $6.47 return on investment for every one dollar spent.

Although many Australian businesses have an EAP provider, less than 10 percent of their employees exercise their employee assistance program benefits. This is because many people do not trust the process.

All you have to do is to take a look at questions that people put into Google:

  • “Can I be fired for using EAP?”
  • “Can you trust EAP?”
  • “Is the EAP confidential?”

Clearly we can see a trend of distrust when it comes to disclosing sensitive information in the workplace which is concerning to us as EAPs can help organisations adopt a more proactive, preventative approach to workplace mental health.

Unfortunately, Employee Assistance Programs are negatively perceived by employees as a cost-effect people management measure, a risk mitigation tool, and ‘a tick the box thing’ by management.

In order to increase EAP utility, we must first understand why people are reluctant to engage their EAP service.

Common reasons why employees do not access their EAP services

Employees are afraid to divulge personal information

Nobody wants their private struggles to become public knowledge, or worse yet, have what they say impact their work relationships. This is perhaps the biggest challenge to getting employees to use their EAP – the fear that what they disclose will come back to hurt them.

Trust, confidence, and respect for legal rights is essential when dealing with the personal concerns of employees. This is why it is critical to have an external EAP partner who can provide off-site and remote counselling services as all EAP sessions are confidential because we are not permitted to disclose the content of their sessions to anyone unless permission is given or compelled to by law.

Or perhaps they’re embarrassed that they are going through a divorce or dealing with an alcohol abuse problem.

People still have a stigma or aversion to seeking mental health assistance

Typically 1 in 5 workers are suffering from a mental health condition at any one time.

Asking for help is difficult and employees are less likely to seek assistance for a mental health condition from their direct manager or human resources.

In mentally unhealthy workplaces, only 38% of employees would approach their direct manager for assistance with 41% willing to approach HR for assistance. What this highlights is that an overwhelming majority of employees in mentally unhealthy environments have no means of accessing the help they need.

There is a misconception that they must ask for permission from management

Another reason why employees do not access their EAP is because they are afraid of management finding out that they are ‘unwell’.

For example, employees of Queensland Government have access to free, professional and confidential counselling services via a number of EAP providers. However, on their EAP page, they unfortunately have a poor choice of words – “You may use the EAP at your own time. However, if you require time off during work hours to attend an appointment, you need approval from your supervisor.”

From their wording, it could be inferred that permission from management is required to attend a counselling service – which is not the case as most EAPs have 24/7 toll-free numbers that employees can access confidentially.

Staff do not know if their issue is relevant

Many employees believe that EAPs are reserved for emergency situations only. Therefore, someone who may benefit from support on matters that may not be seen as ‘emergencies’ such as budgeting, caregiving issues, or job burnout may not know that they can access EAP services.

Most people understand that EAP offers counselling but Employee Assistance Programs covers so much more than that.

How to increase the use of EAP benefits at your workplace

For EAPs to offer maximum benefit to your organisation, employees must feel that the program is a safe environment where issues and concerns are dealt with in a professional manner. Second, staff must feel protected against job loss, criminal sanctions, or embarrassment.

Here are a few ways to better educate your employees about EAPs:

  • Promote it year-round. While many workplaces promote their social gatherings and membership perks, many forget to include their Employee Assistance Program. Instead, include EAP in your internal newsletter, webinars and communications to remove the stigma of seeking help.
  • Offer a training session for all managers. People in managerial positions are not necessarily equipped to deal with team members who require mental health assistance. A training session can provide managers with ways to spot signs that their colleagues are experiencing prolonged stress. Training can provide them with a process on how to approach sensitive situations.
  • Ask your EAP partner to come into the office to provide relatable examples of how and when they can access the service. Not only will this remove the mystery behind who they will have access to, but having psychologists talk about ‘non-emergency’ matters will help your staff understand that they can reach out at any time for any reason.
  • Create physical and digital FAQs. With confidentiality being the biggest barrier to EAP access, make sure employees understand that there are privacy laws in place. Include this in all materials and communication so that it becomes common knowledge in the workplace. Similarly, make instructions clear to highlight that employees may access their services at any time they choose. No manager or HR permission is required.
  • Champion company leaders to share their personal experiences. Fostering an open culture requires buy-in from the top. If company culture shuns vulnerabilities, embracing something such as EAP will be difficult.

New Vision Psychology: Your Trusted EAP partner

We have a culturally diverse team who can provide your team with counselling in multiple languages. Our rates are competitive in the EAP market and a number of our psychologists have over 2 decades of corporate experience.

For more information and to get a quote, click here.

Sources:

  • Employee Assistance Program Services in Australia industry trends (2015-2020)IBISWorld.
  • Employee Assistance Programs in Australia: the perspective of organisational leaders across sectorsAsia Pacific Journal of Human Resources.
  • Why hardly anyone uses Employee Assistance ProgramsHow Stuff Works.
  • Employee Assistance Report Volume 18, No. 3, March 2015.
  • State of workplace mental health in AustraliaHeads Up.
  • Employee Assistance Programs have low utilizationHR Technologist.